“It Took Me To A Place Of Peace…” (@olyounginjared)

Alright, I’m a 21-year-old white kid from the little known place of Newfoundland & Labrador Canada. It’s a disappointing place filled with drug addicts & crime. Nothing to really do & no one doing anything with their lives. Our weather is in the negatives 75% of the year, so mental health issues are huge here.

I was super late to Joe Budden fan base. I heard All Love Lost the April of my senior year. It was a super tough year for me… I lost all my friends, I was fighting addiction & suicide, my parents were going through this really fucked up divorce, my father could get a lil’ abusive.

When I heard what Joe was saying in these records it blew my mind, it took me to a place of peace for some time. Fast forward to February of graduating, I finally kicked my addiction (just got the three-year mark), but I lost my job due to travel issues so I had to go on unemployment & never got outta the crib much. I would take walks around the city & blast that album from beginning to end as a way to cope.

I found the podcast maybe March of graduating & was enthralled by the antics & honest convos. I haven’t missed an episode since. They’ve helped me through super dark times. My moms’ new marriage is falling apart & ruining our living situation, work continues to be super tough & toxic. I put them on tho & it makes everything a lil’ easier, even if I don’t laugh, they all just help me.

I’m so thankful for y’all & look up to y’all more then I’d like to admit. The things you do for all of the fans is incredible.

 

If you’d like to submit your story and how music helped you, Joe Budden or not, you can do so here.

View the last blog post in which I interviewed Jared Azaziah, also known as @Darknightmusic, who helped produce a number of Joe Budden records and more: https://bit.ly/2QvmQl3

Leave a comment